Finalists of the inaugural New Zealand OSPAs announced

New Zealand Security Magazine - Update

The inaugural New Zealand OSPAs finalists have been announced.

With an independent judging panel having concluded its scoring, the organisers of the OSPAs have today announced the finalists of the first-ever New Zealand Outstanding Security Performance Awards (OSPAs).

According to organisers, the 2022 New Zealand OSPAs attracted an excellent number of quality submissions in its first year and the judging panel faced a challenging task narrowing down the entries to select only the very best.

“We are delighted by the response we have received,” said founder of the OSPAs Professor Martin Gill. “And all those that have made it to the finalists list should be very proud, as only those that reach a score threshold go forward to the next phase of the competition.”

The 2022 finalists are:

Outstanding In-House Security Manager/Director
Rehan du Toit – Auckland University of Technology
Dean Kidd – Auckland Unlimited
Brent Mirfin – Evotek Technologies

Outstanding Contract Security Manager/Director 
Gareth Bacon – First Security Guarding Services 
Nathan Cray – Global Security Solutions  
Stu Leith – Platform 4 Group  
Pete Mason – Optic Security Group
Dion Neill – The Neill Group
James Ngatai-Blyth – First Contact  

Outstanding Contract Security Company (Guarding)
First Contact  
First Security Guarding Services 
Platform 4 Group
SLS Security

Outstanding Security Consultant
Lee Ashton – Optic Security Group
Nick Gibbs – First Security Guarding Services 
Jo Lloyd – Straif Security Specialists
Dion Neill – The Neill Group
Lincoln Potter 
Ashley Quensell – Platform 4 Group 

Outstanding New Security Product
WelfareFirst™ – First Security Guarding Services 
My Vaccine Pass integration – Gallagher

Outstanding Security Partnership
Evotek Technologies and Visual Networks  
Focus Digital Security Solutions & NZ Police
The Precinct Security Model created by Alan Young

Outstanding Security Officer
Jodi Lomax – Bank of New Zealand
Sione Tusini – Rex – Platform 4 Group

Outstanding Female Security Professional
Tracey Gattsche – Optic Security Group
Zoe Grant – First Contact  
Jill Priest – First Security Guarding Services  
Ravina Ram – Matrix Security Group
Sherilyn Tasker – Gallagher
Trish Thompson – Gallagher
Karen Timpson – Bank of New Zealand
Jennie Vickers – Zeopard

Outstanding Young Security Professional
Stella Donachie – Red Badge Group
Pascale Howell – Gallagher
Soul Lauvi-Johnson – Optic Security Group
Kyle Nu’uali’itia – Evotek Technologies Ltd

Lifetime Achievement
To be announced on the day

Winners will be announced on Friday,  27th May 2022 at a gala dinner taking place at the Aotea Centre in Auckland.

The New Zealand OSPAs is sponsored by global software provider TEAM Software, supported by leading security associations and special interest groups – who were instrumental in nominating the judging panel to represent them.