Women in Security Awards Aotearoa makes International Women’s Day return

New Zealand Security Magazine - Update

WiSAA 2023-24

Support International Women’s Day by nominating a deserving female security professional for the 2023-24 Women in Security Awards Aotearoa. Nominations due 8th March!

International Women’s Day is coming up on 8th March, and what better way to recognise the contribution of women to the security, defence, and resilience of Aotearoa New Zealand than nominating a colleague or employee in the 2023-24 Women in Security Awards Aotearoa!

Defsec New Zealand, the New Zealand Security Sector Network (NZSSN), and Women in Security & Resilience Alliance (WISECRA) have announced that nominations for the 2023-24 Women in Security Awards Aotearoa are being accepted.

Nominations already submitted in the late 2023 nomination round are not required to be submitted again and will be assessed along with new nominations received between now and the new submission deadline date. The award category line-up now features categories targeting those working in defence and international peace and law enforcement – professionals literally at the front line of New Zealand’s security.

The Women in Security Awards Aotearoa (WiSAA) initiative was established in 2020 to promote the role of women in sectors where they are still significantly under-represented, and to recognise women who are advancing Aotearoa New Zealand’s security, risk and resilience sectors.

“What makes WiSAA uniquely special is the fact that it cuts across security domain boundaries and across the public, private, and community sectors in a way that no other awards programme in our sector does,” said NZSM and Line of Defence Magazine Chief Editor Nicholas Dynon. “The awards are also unquestionably independent, which means no sponsorships and no paid promotions.”

The nine categories for WiSAA 2023-24 are:

  1. Preventing crime and protecting communities
  2. Securing organisations and infrastructure
  3. Safeguarding networks and people online
  4. Countering incivility and violent extremism
  5. Contributing to defence and international security
  6. Combatting fraud and misrepresentation
  7. Protecting borders, trade, and biosecurity
  8. Responding to natural disaster events
  9. Building resilient communities

Nominations are encouraged from across the private, public (including government, education, military, and law enforcement) and community sectors. It is important to note that these awards are open to the broader security sector, not just ‘industry’. Self-nominations are welcomed.

For more information, including detailed descriptions of each award category, visit https://defsec.net.nz/women-in-security-aotearoa/

The deadline for nominations is 4:00pm, Friday 08 March 2024, and nominations of no more than 1,000 words (including supporting material) are to be emailed to awards@defsec.net.nz